ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Tetra Tech EM Inc. (Tetra Tech) prepared this Handbook with funding from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) administered through the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) Pollution Prevention Program. Throughout the project, Tetra Tech worked with Arapahoe Basin (A-Basin) and the Aspen Skiing Company (ASC) to understand the environmental aspects of ski area operations and evaluate various pollution prevention opportunities. A-Basin and ASC dedicated significant time and resources for the development of this handbook and toward reducing the environmental impacts of their operations. Kirk Mills and Michael Keefe managed the project for CDPHE and Tetra Tech, respectively. Principal project engineers were Caitlin Bowman of Tetra Tech and Judy Dorsey of The Brendle Group, Inc. Numerous other individuals, particularly Geraldine Link of the National Ski Areas Association and John Gitchell of Vail Resorts, contributed to the creation of this Handbook. In addition, Tetra Tech and CDPHE acknowledge the following individuals and organizations that provided valuable input to this Handbook.

Project Advisory Board

- Kirk Mills, CDPHE Pollution Prevention Program
- Auden Schendler, ASC
- Alan Henceroth, A-Basin
- Geraldine Link, NSAA
- John Gitchell, Vail Resorts
- John Larson, EPA Region 8
- Melanie Mills, Colorado Ski Country USA
- Julie Klein, Denver Recycles

- Mark MacMillan CDPHE Air Pollution Control Division
- Phyllis Woodford, CDPHE Air Pollution Control Division
- Miles Stotts, Pitkin County Landfill
- Chris Lane, previously with ASC
- Parry Burnap, previously with CDPHE Pollution Prevention Program

For Technical Information and Chapter Reviews (in alphabetical order)

- Kay Beaton, Beaton and Associates
- David Bishop, Golf Course Superintendents Association of America
- Stephen Booth, Efficiency Vermont
- Jay Collins, York Snow
- John Cutshall, Safety-Kleen Corporation
- Vaughn DeCrausaz, Starboard Electric
- David Draves, ASC
- Kimberley Erusha, United States Golf Association
- Jamey Evans, U.S. Department of Energy
- Chris Fay, Rain Bird
- Douglas Fisher, FHG International Inc.
- Patti Griffin, Green Hotels Association
- Roger Guzowski, University of California Sacramento Recycling Program
- Howard Haines, Montana Department of Environmental Quality
- Peter King, ASC
- Matt Kelly, Better Engineering
- Mike Kostrzewa, Colorado State University
- Ted Lange, Montana Department of Environmental Quality

- Mike Lucas, A-Basin
- Joe McCleary, Saddle Rock Golf Course
- Kevin Morris, National Turfgrass Evaluation Program
- Don Mushet, ASC
- Al Ogren, Snowmass Lodge and Club
- Rusty Pawlikowski, A-Basin
- Sarah Raposa, CERES
- Michael Reeve, Innovative Snowmaking Technologies
- Joe Scheiffelin, CDPHE Hazardous Waste Materials and Management Division
- Yaroslav Stanchak, Mountain View Technologies
- Chris Swim, Lakewood Country Club
- Scott Todd, Cordillera Valley Course
- Jim Ward, ASC
- John Wegner, Emory University, Environmental Studies Department
- Clyde Weissner, Vail Resorts
- Joellen Zeh, Audubon International